Google+

5 Ways To Protect Your Privacy From Facebook

Ever since the f8 conference last week where Facebook’s Mark Zuckerberg revealed a slew of new features being rolled out to their 800M+ user base, privacy experts have been a little on edge — and reasonably so.

Did you know?

When you browse the internet Facebook tracks your activity on every website you visit, regardless if you are logged in or not. According to Nik Cubrilovic, entrepreneur and hacker, Facebook just changes the tracking cookie and your personal identifiable information is still present in these cookies through tokens. Even if you are not logged in and the website has a Facebook button or widget (which most do these days), it’s still tracking your information.

Nik says that you need to delete your cookies every time you log out of Facebook and before you log into another website. This can be very time consuming and sadly, only the paranoid will probably take the time to do this.

According to VentureBeat who also reported on this story:

“To block Facebook from following you, you need to delete all Facebook-related cookies after logging out. You may also be able to use AdBlock Plus to block Facebook, with the following rules, as reported on Hacker News:

facebook.com^$domain=~facebook.com ~facebook.net|~fbcdn.com|~fbcdn.net
facebook.net^$domain=~facebook.com|~facebook.net|~fbcdn.com|~fbcdn.net
fbcdn.com^$domain=~facebook.com|~facebook.net|~fbcdn.com|~fbcdn.net
fbcdn.net^$domain=~facebook.com|~facebook.net|~fbcdn.com|~fbcdn.net

Note: we haven’t tested these rules for efficacy yet.”

Aside from deleting your Facebook account and abandoning Facebook for good. Here are some other ways you can protect yourself:

  1. Do not use Apps on Facebook. They back haul your info. And if you do, double check the privacy settings – they may not need to access you and your friends info or post to your wall.
  2. Uncheck all sharing options under “How people bring your info into apps they use”
    How others share your info on Facebook via apps they use
  3.  Under Account Settings>General>Email – uncheck to allow your email address to be downloaded when your friends download their information. If they know you, they won’t need to download your email.
  4. Under Account Settings>General>Linked Accounts – don’t link accounts to Facebook. This allows you to be auto-logged into Facebook when you log into another account like Yahoo!, MySpace, Google, OpenID, etc.
  5. Do yourself a favor and don’t bother downloading your personal information file. If you don’t have it on your computer, you don’t have to worry about it being hacked.
So with all of this, will you be abandoning Facebook for Google+? Or abandoning social networks all together? Leave your comments in the comment box below.
Send to Kindle
About Tracy Sestili

Tracy Sestili is CEO and Chief blogger at Social Strand Media. She is also the author of Taking Your Brand from the Bench to the Playing Field -- Social Media Fundamentals for Business.