Social Bookmarking: How To Save for Later on Facebook

save for later on FB blog

Did you know that Facebook now allows you to save something to read later? No one sees it unless you decide to share it. Think of it as kind of your own personal bookmarking for Facebook. You can bookmark links, places, events, movies, music, books, and TV shows. You cannot bookmark photos or regular posts. If you think about how many times you are thumbing through Facebook on your mobile device while waiting for something and think, that would be interesting to read but…either you don’t have time or your connection is bad and the page won’t load. (How frustrating is that??)

In any case, now you can save it for later for when you have more time or a better internet connection. Here’s how it works:

How to Save For Later on Facebook

1. Find something you want to save for later and hover over the post until you see the light gray down arrow in the upper right corner. Click on that and then click “Save….”

Save to FB howto

2. To access your saved items, go to Home> left nav and click on Saved:


3. After you’ve read it, you can share it or you can delete it by clicking on the gray ‘x’ in the upper right corner and it will go into the Archive. To permanently delete from the Archive, you need to Click Saved>Archive> and then click  next to the item you want to permanently remove and then select Delete

Archive Saved FB

And that’s it. Once you permanently delete it from the archive you cannot get it back. Pretty nifty, eh?

Send to Kindle
About Tracy Sestili

Tracy Sestili is CEO and Chief blogger at Social Strand Media. She is also the author of Taking Your Brand from the Bench to the Playing Field -- Social Media Fundamentals for Business.